European Union
  • Winners of the Nobel Peace Prize since 1998:


    — 2012: The European Union.

    — 2011: Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen.

    — 2010: Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo.

    — 2009: U.S. President Barack Obama

    — 2008: Martti Ahtisaari

    — 2007: Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Al Gore

    — 2006: Muhammad Yunus, Grameen Bank

    — 2005: International Atomic Energy Agency, Mohamed ElBaradei

    — 2004: Wangari Maathai

    — 2003: Shirin Ebadi

    LAST UPDATE : Dec 10, 2012, 12:30 AM EST
  • Farmers and activists from all over the continent converged on European Union headquarters Wednesday to push for a food policy that is fairer to family farmers and kinder to the environment and developing nations.

    LAST UPDATE : Dec 07, 2012, 6:00 PM EST
  • 'Good Food Marchers' stage a protest in front of the European Commission headquarters in Brussels, Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2012.

    Claim that large farms and agricultural multinationals damage environment with chemicals and GMOs. 

    LAST UPDATE : Dec 07, 2012, 4:30 PM EST
  • PRAGUE (AP) — The EU's industry and entrepreneurship commissioner says the bloc's long-delayed satellite navigation program is expected to be partly operational by the end of 2014.

    Antonio Tajani — speaking at the official opening of the new Galileo system's headquarters in the Czech capital, Prague on Thursday — said that two satellites will be launched next month, and from next year four more will go up every six months until a network of 30 is completed.

    After years of delays, the first two Galileo satellites were placed into orbit last year.

    LAST UPDATE : Dec 06, 2012, 12:00 PM EST