U.S. outlines new visa criteria for six mainly-Muslim nations

Jun 29, 2017, 6:36 AM EDT
Donald Trump's initial travel ban in January sparked widespread protests.
(Source: Kristin "Shoe" Shoemaker/flickr)

A day after the U.S. Supreme Court partially restored President Donald Trump’s controversial travel ban, the White House on Wednesday laid out new criteria for visa applicants from six mainly-Muslim nations and all refugees.

The new rules, which apply to the citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen, require the applicants to have a “close” family relationship or formal ties with the U.S. to be eligible to enter the country, writes the BBC.

The guidelines issued to all the U.S. embassies and consulates will come into effect on Thursday but won’t be applicable to already issued visas, a provision that would prevent the chaotic scenes on airports that resulted after the initial, abrupt travel ban in January, notes The Guardian.